In Derby for the DTA Conference

In October 2009, I wrote a post about the Derby Hippodrome.  I was fascinated by this building, which I had discovered rather randomly through my interest in beautiful, but disused buildings and urban exploration (as an observer, rather than a partcipant!)  Anything, living in East London, I never would have thought I’d have an opportunity to visit Derby and see this lovely, historic building in person.  But guess what?  I am here and I’m staying in a hotel just down the road from it.

I am in Derby until Tuesday for the Development Trusts Assocation annual conference on community assets and community enterprise.  It couldn’t be more appropriate than this!

The hotel is admittedly a bit shabby (but very affordable with single rooms!)  And part of me started to think perhaps I should have booked at the Jury’s Inn where many other delegates seem to be staying.  But I stand by my decision – namely for patronising a smaller, non-multiple business and secondly because I am staying close to the centre of the town, seconds from the Derby Hippodrome.  Before tomorrow’s proceedings, I’ll be venturing out a bit earlier to walk past the Hippodrome to have a look around.

Updated information on the state of this building is at the “This is Derbyshire” website.  I’m going to see if any clever people at the DTA Conference tomorrow might have some ideas and resources to rescue this building (and others in Derby!)

Leave a Reply

